--

I was homeschooled for the same reasons you give, not in a religious way, but because I have Asperger's with ODD. I was back in school again in fourth grade and was way ahead of other kids yet did partial intrigration in 5-6th which meant going back and forth between specail ed and regular ed and some regular ed children did not respect our boundaries. They thought because I was so intelligent and way ahead of the other kids that they put us in regular ed tortured by Flowers for Algernon and The Outsiders which we had to read twice. Flowers for Algernon was tormented because I had to take meds for anxiety and in the book the rat Algernon dies because of a medication that Charlie takes to keep him stable and functioning. The cherry on top was Ray Bradbury's There Come Soft Rains in High School!

--

--

Christina Bishop

Tuba player, creator of Struwwelkinder and The Flying Circus Orchestra